Reflecting on Italy- Looking toward summer

I have been back home a week now, reluctantly settled back in to my hectic final semester at college. I feel I only just sipped from the glass of Italy, there is so much I didn’t see or experience. If I ever have the chance, I’d like to drink more deeply.

Between finishing midterms and figuring out post graduate life, I’m preparing some pitches for travel articles about Italy. I took tons of notes and am currently working on how to frame my experiences in a focused and interesting way that someone might pay me for. (My article about Oxford for medieval history buffs is slotted for issue 91 of Renaissance Magazine by the way.)

So I’m trying to synthesize and gain perspective on everything I saw and felt in Italy. Beyond just looking back through my notes and photos, I’m doing some additional research and scoping out travel journals that may be right for the kind of article I want to write.

My summer is feeling more up in the air than I’d like. With the end of the peace pact with North Korea, my visit to South Korea may be in danger. Let’s face it: South Korea may be in danger. Such unrest may make travel in Asia much more difficult. I have an invitation from my brother to visit him in Taiwan after I’m through in South Korea and a few other scattered invitations in Australia and England. Even if South Korea is cancelled, I intend to travel.

I’d really like to go to Prague, Budapest, or Vilnius to network and apply for jobs teaching English as a second language. South Korea is an excellent place to do that as well, but as I said, politically precarious at the moment.

It’s so difficult judging which programs are dodgy and which really take care of their teachers. Moving to another country (especially one where you don’t speak the language) for a year is a big step. I want to be able to put my trust in the company I work for. I’m also not sure if I’ll have to go for a TEFL or TESL this summer or if my BA in English will be enough, it varies between countries and programs.

Leave a Reply

