One more week stateside

Next weekend I head out for Taiwan for a week to visit my brother (the Ge Ge) and then on to Seoul for 4 weeks. I am excited, but also a little nervous. Partly because this trip has higher stakes now. I have tentatively pre-sold a story  to a magazine that will be about my time in South Korea. This is the first time I’ll be writing to an already set theme about my travels instead of writing and pitching afterwards. I’m trying to be more proactive about my freelancing.

I have also recently been accepted into a teaching program in South Korea. I’ll be back from my trip for only a few weeks before returning to spend an entire school year there. The thing I am most concerned about is getting all the bureaucratic paperwork and such processed in time to start the end of August. I really don’t want to defer my placement until January because being in want of car, I wouldn’t be able to do much of anything around here until then.

I also have to pack up all my worldly possessions (and get rid of half of them), even what I’m not taking, because there is a chance my father might move sometime in the next year and I want to save him the hours it will take to pack up all my books and papers. It’s remarkable to me how much one manages to accumulate. I’ve decided that I will only allow myself to send along one smallish box of books for the year in South Korea. As balm to the sting of limiting my library, I have been downloading a ton of free ebooks from Gutenberg library online. There’s a great selection of classic literature in a very friendly format.

More pressingly, I’m packing as lightly and weather appropriately as possible for my month long journey. Once I arrive in Seoul I can do a more comprehensive “what-I-packed” post for the luggage conscious travelers out there. I know I found such posts to be very useful before my first trip. Though, I still packed an immense amount on my trip to England.

Anyway, I’ll be blogging from my tablet starting next week, which is incredibly annoying and difficult, so please forgive any typos. Wifi might be a bit spotty depending on which building I end up staying in in Seoul.

But I’m really excited to be sharing this experience with you guys and hopefully come September I’ll blogging about the next big adventure: teaching English in South Korea.

Leave a Reply

